Scientific skepticism leads to freedom or to physics

Jeffrey becomes skeptical of creationism and decides to go public and posts a 20-page paper on facebook:

I was a conservative evangelical living in the Bible belt. I knew that posting the paper would sacrifice my reputation, but someone had to stand up for truth.

What kind of reaction does he get from his Christian brothers and sisters:

For the most part, my friends stuck by me and my acquaintances didn’t. In church, I sometimes felt like I was walking around with 666 tattooed on my forehead. I began to realize that unity in Christ often unity through homogeneity of ideas and the squelching of dissent.

Anyone who is familiar with physics hierarchy recognizes the similarity.

Let’s assume that Jeffrey is a physics student who decides to question physics dogma and dares to do his own research and discovers that legal physics is full of lies and that most experiments in physics are frauds because he learns that Cavendish never measured G as physics propaganda told him and Coulomb faked his experiments and Eddington’s safari never proved General Relativity and so on so forth and decides to publish his findings in facebook! What would happen?

Well, physics hierarchy is not as forgiving as Christian hierarchy and the career of this budding physicist will end right there. Why? For daring to exhibit scientific skepticism and daring to question the sanctity of legal physics. A scientific skeptic can have no future in physics. As stated by this insider physics wants only conformists. Just like the church.

Let’s make a semantic substitution and assume that church=physics department and 666=crackpot:

For the most part, my friends stuck by me and my colleagues didn’t. In the department I sometimes felt like I was walking around with “crackpot” tattooed on my forehead. I began to realize that unity in Newtonian dogma is often unity through homogeneity of ideas and the squelching of scientific dissent.

Here’s a table showing the perfect analogy between religion and physics. No wonder these two species of doctors fight with each other continuously. Only organisms of the same type interact with each other.

Jeffrey exhibited scientific skepticism when he dared to think for himself. But if he now merely switches his allegiances from creationism to physics and to Big Bang and stuff like that he would be where he started from: switching from believing in one cosmogonic mythology to another is not progress. Good luck. My advice: Keep thinking for yourself.

Hat tip to Science after sunclips.

Leave a Reply

